OKC ThunderDome

Beyond…Waaaay Beyond…

Michael

We get things going with a special workout, courtesy Crossfit Nassau in Princeton, NJ, which is where I work out. Within the Crossfit community, there exists something called a “Hero WOD.” These workouts are special not only in the sense that they are tough, but because they commemorate the men and women in the military who gave the ultimate sacrifice in battle. 

This workout of the day, called “Michael,” is named after Lt. Michael McGreevy, who was killed in Afghanistan in 2005. Making it particularly special is the fact that his wife, Laurie, is a member of Crossfit Nassau and participates in this WOD each year, which always falls upon Michael’s birthday, April 24th. 

This is the Rx workout:

3 rounds

  • 800 meter run (0.5 miles)
  • 50 back extensions
  • 50 situps

For a total of 1.5 miles, 150 extensions, 150 situps

For my purposes, my mobility prohibits me from doing back extensions or full situps, so here is how I modify it:

  • 800 meter chair push (no change)
  • 50 back extensions = 50 pushups
  • 50 situps = 50 stomach crunches (I added a 10lb medicine ball as well)

This is a difficult workout for me, mostly because every motion incorporates shoulder movement. By the end of the workout, my shoulders are completely blasted. 

This is the 2nd time I’ve done this workout, and my goal was to finish in under 35 minutes. I knew that each round would take about 10 minutes, and adding in the time it takes to transfer in and out of a chair, I thought this was a realistic goal.

Final time: 34:48

Goal: Met

 

Leave a Reply

