OKC ThunderDome

Beyond…Waaaay Beyond…

Ranking the Top Point Guards in the NBA

Bleacher Report gives its opinion on how all 30 point guards stack up.  Here are the top 5. Well, let’s make it the top 6.

  1. Chris Paul
  2. Derrick Rose
  3. Deron Williams
  4. Rajon Rondo
  5. Steve Nash
  6. Russell Westbrook

I’ve got no problem with Westbrook sitting where he is on that list.  If I had to build a team that would exist for one year, I’d probably take all five of those guys over him.

However, if we’re talking about THIS year, I don’t think Paul sits at the top.  He still looks hurt, and after the Hornets’ torrid start, they have struggled as of late.  I think that Deron Williams is currently the best PG playing right now, as he combines the proper balance between facilitating his team and generating his own offense when needed.  I’d probably take Rondo as my #2 guy, since he is the engine that has led the Celtics to their hot start.  #3 for me would be Paul, because while he isn’t at his best this year, his play is still superior to the next three.  Westbrook is most similar in his game to Derrick Rose; if you swapped those two, I doubt you’d see much drop-off from either team.

All that said, Jason Kidd at #24?  Seriously???

Leave a Reply

